Feb. 22nd, 2008

gateslacker: (danielprofessional)
Hummm..how do you restore from autosave, I wonder. I had begun a post with links and whatnot and then, stupidly and accidentally navigated away from the page thereby losing what I had typed. In any case, it has been an eventful  week, at least when you lead a boring, nondescript life such as myself. I had a great time in St. Louis last weekend visiting with friend, a group which [profile] de23and [personal profile] soniagare a part of. My lost post entailed some of the attractions we visited but now I am too lazy to start again and I am already past the time I said I was to begin studying today.

Though I am keeping up with my assignments and reading, I am certainly suffering from a complete lack of motivation where continuing education is concerned. Maybe it is the weather, but I have no desire to be productive. None. At this moment, I don't want to be taking a class and I would prefer a job rather than a career. I need to be doing some cleaning out in preparation for the upcoming remodel but I am too lazy to undertake that project today. I suspect that I will be moving to the computer room and sleeping there once it all begins but have made no effort to clean out the computer room to make room. I should really do all the planned painting and redo of Brandon's room before it all begins as well but have, as of yet, to purchase that Electric Lime paint. (Brandon's going with a somewhat retro look but of course his oak bed and dresser won't fit well. It is likely to bug me more than him but I am not buying a new headboard at this time!)

I am leery about the remodel and the new debt as, truth be told, I have very little in the way of total debt even with my current mortgage. It all makes me so nervous. What if the car konks out and I have to resume that whole car payment thing. Heck, what if I konk out! LOL.  Risk is a part of life, though, so I called today to set up a time to meet and finalize the project plan.

Since I am thinking of doing this half marathon with a friend from work...walking of course..I should be attempting to walk today, even if it is rainy and cold. My fitness guru friend, [profile] de23, has found a training plan if I can fit it all into my schedule. Yesterday, I planned to attend aerobics but ended up being called in for a few hours. Did they not realize I am on a mini vacation this week? I had attended a nurses meeting the day before because of all the issues with call so perhaps they thought I was available. Since call has been put off a wee bit longer, with the implied threat that it will go into effect if people don't help out when needed, I felt obligated to say yes and work part of the shift. Of course, it is always the same people calling in and the same people being called and asked to come in. Yes, this particular person happens to be positive for flu this time. Even those who take advantage of the situation are actually really sick on occasion. The meeting was calm but tense at the same time as some of the staff did speak up about those staff members that have "trends" to which the people being referred to indirectly immediately piped up proclaiming that they couldn't help that they had "chronic illnesses".  It is interesting that they immediately realized that they were the people being referred to and it also equally highlighted the fact that having an on call schedule would never mitigate the frequency of their call ins. They have chronic illnesses after all and "can't help it". The problem is most of us really feel these people "milk it" a large part of the time. One of my big questions at the meeting was whether administration ever tried to discover why just about everyone says "no" when they are called on their off days, mentioning the rather high census and overwhelming work load of late. Here lately, I have  had to practically crawl to my car at the end of the day. 12 hours of non stop action with little to no break is tiring, no matter how old you are, and goes pretty far in explaining why I am certainly not inclined to come in the days I am off!  Never mind that frequently being called in is due to one of the frequent absentees calling in yet again.

In any case, I am glad being on call was put off a bit longer as I am unable to actually change jobs at the present due to needing a nuclear scan on my thyroid to examine some thyroid nodules. (That is what happens when your health insurance is tied to your employment.) I have been having this sensation that there is something in my neck, growing, even though you can't really see anything by looking or feeling. Of course, these nodules didn't seem large enough on ultrasound to explain that sensation but if they are active, that is producing thyroid hormone, more so than the rest of the gland I suppose that might explain the sensation. This theory also seems to be supported by recent bloodwork. For the last 15 years I have been on the same levothyroxine dosage until this most recent time where I had to decrease my dosage. What I don't understand is why this is all happening now after so many years. I mean, the gland konked out years ago..LOL (konked out must be my word for the day) Another thing I am leery about is the fact that I have to completely stop taking my thyroid medication for three weeks before the scan! I sure hope that my slowing (crashing?) metabolism doesn't interfere with my marathon training plans. (or impact my ongoing attempt to lose weight!)

In the entertainment realm, I loved the interaction between Ronon and Teal'c in Midway. I'd like to see those two paired again sometime. Of course, the previews spoiled this weeks ep (stupid sci-fi channel..[profile] de23, I see why you avoid promos as this was a prime example. Torchwood is still the bomb, yo! I loved the Rhys reveal and am glad they didn't give him the pill. Of course, had this been Alias, they would have killed him ;-) I am curious to see how this development follows through. I'm still quite enamored of Kyle XY, despite the teen vibe that pervades every episode. And Lost, though completely and utterly intriguing, needs to start answering questions instead of creating more and more. I am beginning to feel some irritation with regard to all the unanswered questions. Last night, in a departure from sci-fi fare and House Hunters, I watched Miss Austen Regrets which I thoroughly enjoyed but I wonder just how much of it was dramatic conjecture and how much actually came from her letters. [personal profile] soniag, perhaps you can clarify for me.

April 2016

S M T W T F S
     1 2
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 06:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios