gateslacker: (sorchahrm)
[personal profile] gateslacker

I have been working on a report but it appears to have stalled at the moment. Eventually, I will Get R' Done. In the meantime, I have a few pics to post if it all works out correctly. I seem to have to relearn every time I attempt this..LOL


 
[profile] scarym1 , [profile] isabellesmuse , and me having lunch in Toronto.


[profile] scarym1, Cindyz, Me, and Sue waiting in the autograph line for........


The Wonder himself ;-)




Rumor had it there was a whole other convention going on inside the Tardis.


Jack just can't "Lego" of Sam. ;-) ( I took this especially for my S/Jshippy minded friends!)


A lovely photo of Halifax.

Meanwhile, it is back to the real world come Friday. I really can't complain as it seems that I have been on vacation for most of the month of July. I should be ready raring to get dive back in. Naturally, I am not but I really, really can't complain about my schedule. I am still wondering if I can come up with the funds to start grad school. All of my "stuff" has been turned in and now I am waiting for the final word. I may have to postpone till Spring Semester since I did start this process a wee bit late. We'll see how it all turns out. I am not really worried about it...Yet.

I haven't had too many opportunities to watch my backlog of recorded shows not to mention I have Netflix stuff waiting to be watched. ([personal profile] soniag, Veronica Mars is on that list.) I have been watching a new show called Kyle XY which has unexpectedly intrigued me. Of course, I have been keeping up with The Gates

Flesh and Blood was a terrific season opener. Usually Gate two parters fail in the set up or in the follow through. They either take too long to set up in the first part or drop the ball during the second part. I can say that Flesh and Blood exceeded my expectations. I am one who enjoyed Mitchell feeling his way during his Freshman year but, if the opener is any indication, I feel that he has really found his footing (or perhaps the writers have found his footing). I think Ben Browder is terrific and this episode really brought that home to me. As for Adria, those wee actors did a pretty bang up job in nailing the creepyness of her despite the rote obviousness in the first one and I enjoyed this particular turn of events better than I anticipated. (Remember V, anyone? What a disaster that rapidly aging baby turned out to be!!! )This particular plot device has been done in sci-fi before and not too well. However, I can really see a great potential here with Adria, Vala, and the whole Ori storyline. Claudia Black was terrific as well. We see a toned down Vala but one who still has her snarky spark. I am really glad they handled the whole maternal angle without changing who Vala is. (Whew!). 

A great deal has been made of Daniel's closing comments about shooting Adria when he had the chance, comparing it to Prototype and to early season's Daniel. I think he has always had this propensity. Remember the tank of larval Goauld? I do believe that his actions/words have more of an impact because Adria appears human. Plus we all have to wonder, is she really merely a vessel for the Ori? Is there anything more to her? I think the writers have left an ambiguity there that, hopefully, will be explored. And, as usual, I LOVE Vala and Daniel together.

And Poor Sam, floating alone in Space for four hours after witnessing the Ori kick our behinds. I really enjoyed Sam in this as well. I enjoyed her rescue and her ongoing talk of how the rescue wasn't going to work even while the ship is bearing down on her. I love her willingness to set forth on a suicide mission to Chulac with Teal'c and Bra'tac almost without question. Her caringness (is that even a word?) really stood out and, strangely, reminded me of Sam in Singularity, though I don't know why. I'll have to think ponder where that connection came from when I watch a second time.  And even though Daniel wasn't even in those scenes, I love the team feeling we had with Mitchell, Teal'c, Sam, and Bratac onboard the Goauld vessel heading to Chulac. (Mothership? Ha'tak? I can never keep all these vessels straight..LOL!  And I call myself a fan!) 

I think the only thing that did irritate me was the actions of the Lucian Alliance with Teal'c. I did feel this was too contrived. I mean, we had enough going on did we really need them to be baddies as well?  With their actions, one has to wonder how Teal'c convinced them to join the fight in the first place.

Well, I wanted to discuss Atlantis as well but I have gone on long enough. One comment about Atlantis, though, Can Conner Trineer stay on as Michael? Please!!!

Date: 2006-07-19 01:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pellucid.livejournal.com
Heh, that picture turned out decently. It's fun to see your others, too. That's a much better picture of Halifax than any I got when I was there last summer--my one day to go out and be touristy it was really hazy.

Date: 2006-07-20 02:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gateslacker.livejournal.com
Yes, I thought it turned out well even though I cropped it. The one with you and Scarym1 looks even better.

Halifax was very lovely and the wonderful temps didn't hurt either.

pics

Date: 2006-07-19 08:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] scarym1.livejournal.com
Jack can't Lego of Sam. LOL!!!!!!

Lovely pics. Great write up on F & B. The Lucian Alliance did strike me as odd as well. Why would Tealc even think to go ask them for help?

I just Connor Trineer as Micheal as well. I hope we get to see quite a bit of him this season. : )

Re: pics

Date: 2006-07-20 02:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gateslacker.livejournal.com
Tee hee hee...you like that?


I just Connor Trineer as Micheal as well. I hope we get to see quite a bit of him this season. : )

He HAS to be a recurring character!


Date: 2006-07-25 09:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] starsperse.livejournal.com
lol love the tardis and lego shots - looks like you guys had a fun time!

Date: 2006-07-27 02:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gateslacker.livejournal.com
We certainly did though we talked about how great it would be for us all to meet up again. I took about a bazillion lego shots, I was totally fascinated..LOL. I love the Tardis too. Hope sci-fi shows season two!! (or is it season 30 something?)

April 2016

S M T W T F S
     1 2
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:04 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios